Colias palaeno (Linnaeus, 1761)


Colias palaeno: Male Colias palaeno: Male Colias palaeno: Male [N] Colias palaeno: Female [S] Colias palaeno: Oviposition (west Austria, Rätikon, above Lindauer Hütte, 1900m asl, July 2013) [N] Colias palaeno: Ovum [N] Colias palaeno: Young larva with feeding pattern [N] Colias palaeno: Young larva (west Austria, Silvrettasee, 1900m asl, August 2013) [N] Colias palaeno: Young larva [N] Colias palaeno: Young larva (west Austria, Silvrettasee, August 2013) Colias palaeno: Larva [N] Colias palaeno: Larva in the habitat (S-Bavaria, Ammersee, May 2013) [N] Colias palaeno: Larva (southern Bavaria, west of Lake Ammersee, May 2013) [N] Colias palaeno: Larva (southern Bavaria, west of Lake Ammersee, May 2013) [N] Colias palaeno: Larva (southern Bavaria, west of Lake Ammersee, May 2013) [N] Colias palaeno: Prepupa Colias palaeno: Puppe Colias palaeno: Pupa [S] Colias palaeno: Already quite overgrown (Betula pubescens) larval habitat in southern Bavaria (west of lake Ammersee, May 2013) [N] Colias palaeno: Larval habitat in an acidic pasture in the west Austrian lake Silvretta in 1900m asl. [N] Colias palaeno: Larval habitat in an acidic pasture in the west Austrian lake Silvretta in 1900m asl. [N] Colias palaeno: Habitat [N] Colias palaeno: Habitat with abundant Vaccinium uliginosum in the Bavarian northern foreland of the Alps. You can already see heavy birch succession because of changes in the natural water regime.  [N] Colias palaeno: Habitat in the Alps (western Austria, Rätikon, 2000m asl): northern slope with dwarf shrubs such as Vaccinium uliginosum [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillars feed on Vaccinium uliginosum.

Habitat:
Colias palaeno inhabits on the one hand bogs and moorlands in lower elevations and on the other hand siliceous areas in high mountains: dry to wet alpine meadows and especially the dwarf shrub belt.

Life cycle:
The adults fly in June and July and lay eggs on the bilberry leaf upper side. Oviposition takes place especially on sunny and mostly small, marginal shrubs. The young larvae feed on the upper leaf surface (characteristic feeding pattern: scraping of the upper surface), rest mostly on the upper side of the leaf base and hibernate on a webbed seat cushion often on a leaf with which they fall to the ground in autumn, or also directly in the ground litter. In April, the larvae ascend to the plants again and can be easily detected for example by tapping. Pupation takes place in late May on branches of the host plant or nearby other stalks, etc.

Endangerment: strongly endangered

Endangerment factors:
As an inhabitant of bogs, Colias palaeno is threatened with extinction. Nowadays, only tiny remnants of the once vast bogs are present in Central Europe, and these have in most cases a disturbed water balance. Then there is the eutrophication from the air, climate change and the conversion of the bog environment (intensification or afforestation). Especially afforestation of moorland edge areas with spruce, but also their transformation into intensive meadows deprive the butterflies of the food sources because the bog core - the larval habitat - is inherently poor in flowers. Colias palaeno shows with drainage and disturbance initially a significant increasement in numbers because now more blooms and Vaccicium bushes are available. But then the shrubs grow tall (up to 1 meter) and are overgrown by birch succession and Colias palaeno dies out quickly. The same can be observed in some grasslands species after the abandonment of grazing.

Remarks:
In the Alps - in particular the central Alps, but hardly in the Bavarian Alps - Colias palaeno is more widespread in the dwarf shrub zones (Rhododendro-Vaccinietum).

The overall distribution ranges from Central and Northern Europe across northern Asia to Japan. Beyond this, Colias palaeno is also found in the Nearctic.



Colias alfacariensis | Colias aurorina | Colias croceus | Colias hyale | Colias phicomone

Colias palaeno (Linnaeus, 1761) (Hochmoor-Gelbling)


Colias palaeno: Männchen Colias palaeno: Männchen Colias palaeno: Männchen [N] Colias palaeno: Weibchen [S] Colias palaeno: Eiablage (Rätikon, Vorarlberg, oberhalb der Lindauer Hütte, 1900m NN, Juli 2013) [N] Colias palaeno: Ei [N] Colias palaeno: Jungraupe mit Fraßbild [N] Colias palaeno: Jungraupe (Silvrettasee, Vorarlberg, 1900m NN, August 2013) [N] Colias palaeno: Jungraupe [N] Colias palaeno: Jungraupe (Silvrettasee, August 2013) Colias palaeno: Raupe [N] Colias palaeno: Raupe im Habitat (Ammersee, Mai 2013) [N] Colias palaeno: Raupe (Südbayern, westlicher Ammersee, Mai 2013) [N] Colias palaeno: Raupe (Südbayern, westlicher Ammersee, Mai 2013) [N] Colias palaeno: Raupe (Südbayern, westlicher Ammersee, Mai 2013) [N] Colias palaeno: Präpuppe Colias palaeno: Puppe Colias palaeno: Puppe [S] Colias palaeno: Schon ziemlich mit Moorbirken verbuschtes Larvalhabitat in einem Moorrest westlich des Ammersees in Südbayern (Mai 2013) [N] Colias palaeno: Larvalhabitat in einer sauren Alpweide am Silvrettasee (Westösterreich, August 2013, 1900m NN) [N] Colias palaeno: Larvalhabitat in einer sauren Alpweide am Silvrettasee (Westösterreich, August 2013, 1900m NN) [N] Colias palaeno: Habitat [N] Colias palaeno: Habitat am bayerischen Alpenrand mit viel Vaccinium uliginosum, aber aufgrund von Eingriffen in den Wasserhaushalt bereits starker Birkensukzession. [N] Colias palaeno: Habitat in den Alpen an einem zwergstrauchreichen Nordhang im Rätikon (Bilkengrat, ca. 2000m NN, 2012) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen leben an Vaccinium uliginosum.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Colias palaeno besiedelt einerseits in tiefen Lagen Hochmoore und Heidemoore und kommt in den Hochlagen der Gebirgen auch in silikatischen oder vermoorte Alpenmatten und Zwergstrauchheiden vor.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Falter fliegen im Juni/Juli und legen die Eier an Rauschbeere ab (Blattoberseite). Belegt werden besonnte und meist kleine, randständige Sträucher. Die Jungraupen fressen auf der Blattoberseite (Schabefraß), ruhen meist an der Blattbasis oberseits und überwintern auf einem Sitzpolster oft auf einem Blatt, mit dem sie dann zu Boden fallen, oder auch direkt in der Bodenstreu. Im April besteigen sie wieder die Pflanzen und können - etwa durch Klopfen - leicht nachgewiesen werden. Die Verpuppung erfolgt Ende Mai an Ästchen der Nahrungspflanze oder sonstigen Halmen etc.

Gefährdung: stark gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Als Hochmoorbewohner ist Colias palaeno vom Aussterben bedroht. Heute sind nur mehr winzige Reste der einst ausgedehnten Hochmoore in Mitteleuropa vorhanden, und diese weisen in den allermeisten Fällen einen gestörten Wasserhaushalt auf. Dazu kommt die Eutrophierung aus der Luft, der Klimawandel und die Umnutzung der Umgebung. Vor allem Aufforstungen der Moorrandbereiche mit Fichten, aber auch deren Umwandlung in Intensivwiesen entziehen den Faltern die Nahrungsgrundlage, da der Hochmoorkern - das Larvalhabitat - von Natur aus blütenarm ist. Colias palaeno zeigt bei Entwässerung und Störung zunächst eine Zunahme, da jetzt mehr Blüten und flächig kleinwüchsige Rauschbeeren vorhanden sind. Dann aber wachsen die Sträucher hoch (bis 1 m), versinken in Birkensukzession u.a. und der Falter stirbt schnell aus. Ähnliches lässt sich bei manchen Magerrasenbewohnern nach Aufgabe der Beweidung beobachten.

Bemerkungen:
In den Alpen - insbesondere den Zentralalpen, kaum aber in den bayerischen Alpen - ist Colias palaeno in den Rhododendro-Vaccinieten weiter verbreitet und häufiger.

Die Gesamtverbreitung reicht von Mittel- und Nordeuropa über das nördliche Asien bis Japan. Daneben kommt der Falter auch in der Nearktis vor.



Colias alfacariensis | Colias aurorina | Colias croceus | Colias hyale | Colias phicomone