Pericallia matronula (Linnaeus, 1758)


Pericallia matronula: Male [S] Pericallia matronula: Female [S] Pericallia matronula: Female in resting posture [S] Pericallia matronula: Young larva with the typical subdorsal stripes [S] Pericallia matronula: Larva, half-grown [S] Pericallia matronula: Larva [S] Pericallia matronula: Larva in last instar [S]

Host plants:
The species is polyphagous, but the caterpillar preferably feeds on low shrubs such as Lonicera, Viburnum, Rubus and Corylus.

Habitat:
Pericallia matronula can be described as montane-continental, but warmth loving. Typical localities are wood rich, rocky slopes, canyons or bright, bush rich forests on slopes around streams or lakes. Although more common in the mountainous regions (e.g. in Tyrol), Pericallia matronula does not rise too high due to its claim for warmth.

Life cycle:
The development is said to last two years in the field, which might well be true. So the caterpillar overwinters initially grown up about a third and again fully-grown. The moths fly from June to July.

Endangerment: threatened with extinction

Endangerment factors:
In Germany Pericallia matronula is highly threatened with extinction due to housing sprawl, reduction of the habitats (too dense afforestation, etc.) and possibly also climate changes (mild winters).

Remarks:
Pericallia matronula is found more numerous only in the eastern part of the Alps and in the central and southern part of Eastern Europe.
The total distribution extends from eastern France across central and Eastern Europe to East Asia. Pericallia matronula misses in the Mediterranean region.

Pericallia matronula (Linnaeus, 1758) (Augsburger Bär)


Pericallia matronula: Männchen [S] Pericallia matronula: Weibchen [S] Pericallia matronula: Weibchen in Ruhe [S] Pericallia matronula: Jungraupe mit den typischen Subdorsalstreifen [S] Pericallia matronula: Raupe, halberwachsen [S] Pericallia matronula: Raupe [S] Pericallia matronula: Raupe im letzten Stadium [S]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Art ist polyphag, befrisst als Raupe aber gerne niedrige Sträucher wie Lonicera, Viburnum, Rubus und Corylus.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Pericallia matronula ist als montan-kontinental, aber wärmeliebend zu charakterisieren. Typische Fundorte sind buschige Felshänge mit Magerraseneinsprengseln, Felsschluchten oder lockere buschreiche Wälder an Hängen etwa in Bach- oder Seenähe. Obwohl mehr im Gebirgsraum verbreitet (etwa in Tirol), steigt Pericallia matronula aufgrund ihres Wärmeanspruchs nicht allzu hoch.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Entwicklung soll im Freiland zweijährig sein, was durchaus zutreffend sein dürfte. So überwintert die Raupe zunächst etwa ein Drittel erwachsen und dann nochmals ausgewachsen. Die Falter fliegen von Juni bis Juli.

Gefährdung: vom Aussterben bedroht

Gefährdungsursachen:
In Deutschland ist Pericallia matronula durch Zersiedelung der Landschaft, Verringerung der besiedelbaren Fläche (zu dichte Aufforstung etc.) und eventuell auch klimatische Veränderungen (milde Winter) unmittelbar vom Aussterben bedroht.

Bemerkungen:
Pericallia matronula kommt nur im östlichen Teil der Alpen sowie überhaupt im zentralen und südlichen Osteuropa noch etwas zahlreicher vor.
Die Gesamtverbreitung erstreckt sich vom Osten Frankreichs über Mittel- und Osteuropa bis Ostasien. Pericallia matronula fehlt im Mittelmeergebiet.