Pyrgus onopordi (Rambur, 1839)


Pyrgus onopordi: Adult (Abruzzes, L Pyrgus onopordi: Adult (Abruzzes, L Pyrgus onopordi: Adult (Abruzzes, L Pyrgus onopordi: Adult (Provence, Rians, late May 2013) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Female (e.o. Andalusia) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Female (e.o. Andalusia) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Adult (e.l. Provence 2011) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Male (e.o. Andalusia) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Male (Andalusia) [M] Pyrgus onopordi: Portrait (Andalusia) [M] Pyrgus onopordi: Female (e.l. Provence 2011) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Female (Provence, France) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Female, lower side (Provence, France) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Oviposition at Potentilla reptans (Andalusia) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Oviposition at Helianthemum apenninum (Andalusia, Sierra Nevada, late June 2008) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Ovum at Malva neglecta (Andalusia) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Ovum at Helianthemum apenninum (Andalusia) [M] Pyrgus onopordi: L1 (e.o. Andalusia 2008) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: L2 [S] Pyrgus onopordi: L3 (e.o. Andalusien 2008) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: L4 (penultimate instar, e.o. Andalusien 2008) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Larva (Provence, France) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Larva shortly after the last moult (e.o. Andalusia 2008) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Larva in last instar (e.o. Andalusia 2008) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Larva in last instar (e.o. Andalusien 2008) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Expulsor [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Pupa dorsal (e.o. Andalusia) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Pupa dorsal (e.o. Andalusia 2008) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Pupa ventral (e.o. Andalusia) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Pupa (e.l. Provence 2011) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Pupa (e.l. Provence 2011) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Pupa (Provence, France) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Malva neglecta with eggs (Sierra Nevada, Andalusia) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Habitat in the Sierra Nevada with ovipositions at Malva in 2500m above sea level (late June 2008) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Habitat in Andalusia with oviposition at Helianthemum apenninum (late June 2008) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Habitat (Andalusia, Sierra Nevada, late June 2008) with ovipositionn at Potentilla reptans [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Habitat in the Provence, France [N]

Host plants:
In Provence, the caterpillars live on Potentilla hirta and P. pusilla (Nel 1985 and own observations), but probably also to P. reptans. In Valais, it was found, according to literature, on Helianthemum nummularium. In breeding, the caterpillars accept both genera as do those of P. cirsii, P. armoricanus and P. carlinae, so this seemed plausible. In the end of June 2008, I observed then in the Sierra Nevada and adjacent mountains (Southern Spain) oviposition on Potentilla reptans, Helianthemum apenninum and Malva neglecta. The use of hollyhocks in European Pyrgus species had previously been referenced always in the realm of fables, in most cases rightly. Pyrgus onopordi seems to constitute a prominent exception. In North America, a number of Pyrgus species lives on Malvaceae according to literature.

Habitat:
Pyrgus onopordi colonizes hot rocky slopes, grasslands and dry ruderal terrain. In Provence, the butterflies love living on the edge of dry, partly wooded ravines at the foot dry, bushy slopes. In the northern part of the distribution Pyrgus onopordi is restricted to lower altitudes up to 1400m above sea level. In the Sierra Nevada, I met ovipositing females still over 2500m above sea level on xerothermic pastures on Malva neglecta.

Life cycle:
The life cycle is similar to Pyrgus armoricanus. The adults appear in one to three generations per year. This already shows that the tendency to development without hibernation is not quite as pronounced as in Pyrgus armoricanus. In July 2005 I observed several half-grown caterpillars together with fresh adults of the partial second generation (Provence, app. 700m above sea level). These caterpillars did not develope until after hibernation in spite of increased temperatures (in rearing). This may be an adaptation to summer drought. The caterpillar overwinters as L4, after late oviposition, however, in a younger instar from L1 onwards.

In the Spanish Sierra Nevada I observed many mostly fresh adults up to over 2500m above sea level in the end of June 2008 which belonged to the first or second genaration according to the elevation of the location. A clear separation is not possible in such regions.

Endangerment factors:
In Germany only two historical observations are known from the Swabian Alb (Ebert & Rennwald 1989). For this demanding species (microclimate!) hardly exist any potential habitats in Central Europe today.

Remarks:
It is a southwestern species (Northwest Africa to Italy) with relict populations in the Valais. In the mountains of Southern Spain Pyrgus onopordi is still the most common Pyrgus.

Hints on determination:
The adults are often slightly yellowish scaled. The most important distinguishing mark is the anvil-like white spot on the hindwing lower side. But this can exceptionally be also the case with Pyrgus armoricanus and other species. As a result Pyrgus onopordi can easily be confused with other species without experience and/or genital section.



Pyrgus accretus | Pyrgus alveus | Pyrgus andromedae | Pyrgus armoricanus | Pyrgus bellieri | Pyrgus cacaliae | Pyrgus carlinae | Pyrgus carthami | Pyrgus cinarae | Pyrgus cirsii | Pyrgus malvae | Pyrgus malvoides | Pyrgus serratulae | Pyrgus sidae | Pyrgus warrenensis

Pyrgus onopordi (Rambur, 1839) (Südwestlicher Würfeldickkopf)


Pyrgus onopordi: Falter (Abruzzen, L Pyrgus onopordi: Falter (Abruzzen, L Pyrgus onopordi: Falter (Abruzzen, L Pyrgus onopordi: Falter (Provence, Rians, Ende Mai 2013) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Weibchen (e.o. Andalusien) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Weibchen (e.o. Andalusien) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Falter (e.l. Provence 2011) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Männchen (e.o. Andalusien) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Männchen (Andalusien) [M] Pyrgus onopordi: Portrait (Andalusien) [M] Pyrgus onopordi: Weibchen (e.l. Provence 2011) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Weibchen (Provence) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Weibchen-Unterseite (Provence) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Eiablage an Potentilla reptans (Andalusien) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Eiablage an Helianthemum apenninum (Andalusien, Sierra Nevada, Ende Juni 2008) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Ei an Malva neglecta (Andalusien) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Ei an Helianthemum apenninum (Andalusien) [M] Pyrgus onopordi: L1 (e.o. Andalusia 2008) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: L2 [S] Pyrgus onopordi: L3 (e.o. Andalusien 2008) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: L4 (vorletztes Stadium, e.o. Andalusien 2008) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Raupe (Provence) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Raupe kurz nach der letzten Häutung (e.o. Andalusien 2008) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Raupe im letzten Stadium (e.o. Andalusien 2008) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Raupe im letzten Stadium (e.o. Andalusien 2008) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Expulsor [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Puppe dorsal (e.o. Andalusien) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Puppe dorsal (e.o. Andalusien 2008) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Puppe ventral (e.o. Andalusien) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Puppe (e.l. Provence 2011) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Puppe (e.l. Provence 2011) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Puppe (Provence) [S] Pyrgus onopordi: Belegte Malva neglecta in der Sierra Nevada (Andalusien) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Habitat in der Sierra Nevada mit Eiablagen an Malva in 2500m NN (Ende Juni 2008) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Habitat in Andalusien mit Eiablagen an Helianthemum apenninum (Ende Juni 2008) [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Habitat (Andalusien, Sierra Nevada, Ende Juni 2008) mit Eiablagen an Potentilla reptans [N] Pyrgus onopordi: Habitat in der Provence [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
In der Provence leben die Raupen an Potentilla hirta und P. pusilla (Nel 1985 und eigene Beobachtungen), aber wohl auch an P. reptans. Im Wallis wurde sie laut Literatur an Helianthemum nummularium gefunden. In der Zucht fressen die Raupen wie die von P. cirsii, P. carlinae und P. armoricanus beide Gattungen, so dass dies plausibel erscheint. Ende Juni 2008 beobachtete ich dann in der Sierra Nevada und angrenzenden Gebirgen (Südspanien) Eiablagen und Eier an Potentilla reptans, Helianthemum apenninum und Malva neglecta. Die Nutzung von Malven war bislang bei europäischen Pyrgus-Arten stets ins Reich der Fabeln verwiesen worden, was wohl auch meist zu Recht geschah. Pyrgus onopordi scheint hier die berühmte Ausnahme zu bilden. In Nordamerika lebt eine Reihe Pyrgus-Arten laut Literatur an Malvaceae.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Pyrgus onopordi besiedelt heiße Felshänge, Magerrasen und trockenes Ruderalgelände. In der Provence lebt der Falter gerne am Rande trockener, teils locker bewaldeter Bachschluchten am Fuße trockener, buschiger Hänge. Im Nordteil der Verbreitung ist Pyrgus onopordi auf tiefe Lagen bis maximal 1400 m NN beschränkt. In der Sierra Nevada traf ich eiablegende Weibchen noch in über 2500m auf xerothermen Weiden an Malva neglecta an.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Entwicklung verläuft ähnlich wie bei Pyrgus armoricanus. Es werden eine bis drei Generationen pro Jahr ausgebildet. Dies zeigt schon, dass die Neigung zur Subitanentwicklung nicht ganz so ausgeprägt wie bei P. armoricanus ist. Im Juli 2005 fand ich in der Provence mehrere halberwachsene Raupen zusammen mit frischen Faltern der partiellen zweiten Generation. Diese Raupen ließen sich auch durch erhöhte Temperaturen nicht ohne Überwinterung zur Verpuppung bringen. Dies mag eine Anpassung an Sommertrockenheit sein. Die Raupe überwintert als L4, nach später Eiablage hingegen in einem jüngeren Stadium ab L1.
In der Sierra Nevada flogen Ende Juni 2008 zahlreiche zumeist frische Falter bis in über 2500m NN, die wohl je nach Höhenlage entweder noch der ersten oder schon der zweiten Generation angehörten. Eine Trennung der Einzelfalter ist hier nicht möglich.

Gefährdungsursachen:
In Deutschland sind nur zwei historische Funde auf der Schwäbischen Alb (Ebert & Rennwald 1989) belegt. Für diese anspruchsvolle Art existieren heute kaum mehr potentielle Habitate in Mitteleuropa.

Bemerkungen:
Es handelt sich um eine südwesteuropäische Art (Nordwestafrika bis Italien) mit Restvorkommen im Wallis. In den südspanischen Gebirgen ist Pyrgus onopordi meist noch die häufigste Pyrgus-Art.

Hinweise zur Bestimmung:
Die Falter sind oft etwas gelblich überstäubt. Zudem ist der weiße Zentralfleck der Hinterflügelunterseite meistens typisch ambossförmig ausgebildet. Dies kann allerdings manchmal auch bei anderen Arten (etwa Pyrgus armoricanus) auftreten, so dass P. onopordi ohne entsprechende Erfahrung (und auch dann manchmal nur über das Genital) vor allem im Freiland mit einigen weiteren Arten (P. armoricanus, P. alveus, kleine P. bellieri) verwechselt werden kann.



Pyrgus accretus | Pyrgus alveus | Pyrgus andromedae | Pyrgus armoricanus | Pyrgus bellieri | Pyrgus cacaliae | Pyrgus carlinae | Pyrgus carthami | Pyrgus cinarae | Pyrgus cirsii | Pyrgus malvae | Pyrgus malvoides | Pyrgus serratulae | Pyrgus sidae | Pyrgus warrenensis