Pyrgus carlinae (Rambur, 1839)


Pyrgus carlinae: Male (Täschalpe) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Male [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Male-upper side [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Male, already a bit worn (Valais) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Male-lower side [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Female (Täschalpe) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Female (Täschalpe) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Female-upper side [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Female (Täschalpe, Valais) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Female portrait [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Female-lower side [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Female-lower side [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Ovum [M] Pyrgus carlinae: Ovum [M] Pyrgus carlinae: Ovum (Valais) [M] Pyrgus carlinae: Ovum (orange Phase) [M] Pyrgus carlinae: Ovum apikal (orange phase) [M] Pyrgus carlinae: Ovum in late autumn (larva developed) [M] Pyrgus carlinae: L1-larva [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Larva at the end of the first instar [S] Pyrgus carlinae: L3 [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Larva, half-grown [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Half-grown larva [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Larva in penultimate instar (L4) [M] Pyrgus carlinae: Larva, just in the 5. and last instar [S] Pyrgus carlinae: L5 [S] Pyrgus carlinae: L5 [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Larva in last instar [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Larva prior to pupation [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Larval shelter (Täschalpe, Valais) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Larval shelter (Täschalpe, Valais) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Larva, shelter opened (Täschalpe) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Pupa [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Pupa [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Pupa [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Larval habitat on the Täschalpe (Valais, Switzerland) in 2200m above sea level (late May 2009) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Habitat in the Valaisian Mattertal at flight time in August [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Habitat (Valais, Täschalpe) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Destroyment of parts of habitat due to senseless watering on above 2000m above sea level (Täschalpe, Valais, Switzerland). The deep green areas in the foreground have been as dry and brown as in the background (right side) some years ago. August 2009. [N]

Host plants:
Potentilla pusilla, occasionally Potentilla grandiflora and at lower altitudes probably P. verna.

Habitat:
Pyrgus carlinae inhabits sun-exposed, stony and nutrient-poor slopes and mountain pastures of the southwestern and western Central Alps from the north-west Ticino on westwards above 1000m (rarely deeper) to about 2800m above sea level. Most often it occurs around 2000m. The caterpillars live only in places where the Potentilla plants grow on otherwise gappy soil without denser other vegetation (see Pyrgus cirsii).

Life cycle:
In contrast to the very closely related sister species Pyrgus cirsii, Pyrgus carlinae has a more rapid development, usually with only four moults (observed in the Valais in Mattertal). The slightly larger egg (comparatively to Pyrgus cirsii) is usually deposited on the underside of leaves. At favourable places you can often find several eggs per plant, resulting mostly from different oviposition flights. The caterpillar overwinters in the egg shell and developes from April to June. Butterflies are found from July to late August, rarely even early September.

In breeding the caterpillars hatch, if the eggs are not kept cold (at least at night), in a warm room in the autumn and develop into a partial second generation, which does not occur in the field. A number of high-alpine species have developed a pure temperature coupling with respect to dormancy. Species of the lowlands (Pyrgus cirsii) with higher autumn temperatures have a different strategy.

Endangerment factors:
In the higher altitudes Pyrgus carlinae is endangered locally by tourism and intense grazing. Unfortunately such an individual-rich locality on the Swiss Täschalpe (Valais) has been heavily decimated in recent years. For construction of a protective dam parts of the habitat have been destroyed. Other parts have been senselessly destructed by agricultural intensification at 2200m above sea level! In spring 2007, an irrigation of the richest part of the caterpillar habitat was installed just below the houses on formerly nutrient-poor, dry areas, which has now changed the character of the vegetation with the result that the areas are no longer suitable for Pyrgus carlinae. You can only hope that the adjacent, so far intact areas suffice for further survival in this valley. Unfortunately this is no single case.

Remarks:
Pyrgus carlinae is endemic to the Southwestern Alps (France, Switzerland, NW-Italy).

Hints on determination:
The females usually show a dense yellowish scaling of the wing upper sides. The white spots are often reduced on the forewing upper side. The males normally have larger spots there. Additionally, they bear more distinct white spots on hindwing upper side.
Without experience Pyrgus carlinae can be confused in its range especially with Pyrgus alveus.



Pyrgus accretus | Pyrgus alveus | Pyrgus andromedae | Pyrgus armoricanus | Pyrgus bellieri | Pyrgus cacaliae | Pyrgus carthami | Pyrgus cinarae | Pyrgus cirsii | Pyrgus malvae | Pyrgus malvoides | Pyrgus onopordi | Pyrgus serratulae | Pyrgus sidae | Pyrgus warrenensis

Pyrgus carlinae (Rambur, 1839) (Südwestalpen-Würfeldickkopf)


Pyrgus carlinae: Männchen (Täschalpe) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Männchen [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Männchen-Oberseite [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Männchen, bereits etwas abgeflogen (Wallis) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Männchen-Unterseite [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Weibchen (Täschalpe) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Weibchen (Täschalpe) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Weibchen-Oberseite [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Weibchen (Täschalpe, Wallis) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Weibchen-Portrait [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Weibchen-Unterseite [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Weibchen-Unterseite [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Ei [M] Pyrgus carlinae: Ei [M] Pyrgus carlinae: Ei (Wallis) [M] Pyrgus carlinae: Ei (orangene Phase) [M] Pyrgus carlinae: Ei apikal (orangene Phase) [M] Pyrgus carlinae: Ei im Spätherbst (Raupe fertig ausgebildet) [M] Pyrgus carlinae: L1-Raupe [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Raupe am Ende des ersten Stadiums [S] Pyrgus carlinae: L3 [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Raupe, halberwachsen [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Halberwachsene Raupe [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Raupe im vorletzten Stadium (L4) [M] Pyrgus carlinae: Raupe, eben im 5. und letzten Stadium [S] Pyrgus carlinae: L5 [S] Pyrgus carlinae: L5 [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Raupe im letzten Stadium [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Raupe vor Verpuppung [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Raupen-Gehäuse (Täschalpe, Wallis) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Raupen-Gehäuse (Täschalpe, Wallis) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Raupe, Gehäuse nach oben weggeklappt (Täschalpe) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Puppe [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Puppe [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Puppe [S] Pyrgus carlinae: Larvalhabitat auf der Täschalpe (Wallis) in 2200m NN (Ende Mai 2009) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Habitat im Walliser Mattertal zur Flugzeit im August [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Habitat (Wallis, Täschalpe) [N] Pyrgus carlinae: Zerstörung von Habitatteilen durch unsinnige Bewässerung auf über 2000m NN (Täschalpe, Wallis). Die fettgrünen Bereiche im Vordergrund waren vor wenigen Jahren noch genauso trocken und braun wie der Hang im Hintergrund rechts. August 2009. [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Potentilla pusilla, gelegentlich Potentilla grandiflora und in tieferen Lagen wohl auch P. verna.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Pyrgus carlinae besiedelt sonnenexponierte, eher magere Hänge und Bergmatten der Südwest- und westlichen Zentralalpen vom Nordwesttessin ab westwärts von 1000m (selten noch tiefer) bis etwa 2800m NN. Am häufigsten ist sie um 2000m NN. Die Raupen leben nur an Stellen, an denen Potentilla dem sonst kaum bewachsenen Boden direkt aufliegt (vgl. Pyrgus cirsii).

Entwicklungszyklus:
Im Gegensatz zu der sehr nahe verwandten Schwesterart Pyrgus cirsii weist P. carlinae eine schnelle Entwicklung mit zumeist nur vier Häutungen auf (von mir im Walliser Mattertal erforscht). Das im Vergleich zu Pyrgus cirsii etwas größere Ei wird meist an der Blattunterseite abgelegt. An günstigen Stellen kann man oft mehrere Eier pro Pflanze finden, die meist von verschiedenen Ablageflügen herrühren. Die Raupe überwintert innerhalb der Eihülle und frisst von April bis Juni. Falter finden sich von Juli bis Ende August, selten auch noch Anfang September.

In der Zucht schlüpfen die Raupen, sofern die Eier nicht zumindest nachts kalt gehalten werden, im warmen Zimmer bereits im Herbst und entwickeln sich zu einer partiellen zweiten Generation, was im Freiland nicht vorkommt. Bei etlichen hochalpinen Arten ist wie hier eine reine Temperaturkoppelung gegeben, die sich Arten des Tieflands (Pyrgus cirsii) so nicht leisten könnten.

Gefährdungsursachen:
In den Hochlagen ist Pyrgus carlinae punktuell durch Tourismus und intensive Weidewirtschaft gefährdet. Leider wurde zum Beispiel ein individuenreicher Fundort auf der Walliser Täschalpe in den letzten Jahren noch stark dezimiert. So wurden zum Bau eines Schutzdamms Teile des Habitats vernichtet. Weitere Teile wurden leider sinnlos durch eine landwirtschaftliche Intensivierung auf 2200m NN geopfert! So wurde im Frühjahr 2007 eine Bewässerung des raupenreichsten Teilhabitats knapp unterhalb der Häuser auf ehedem mager-trockenen Flächen installiert, die mittlerweile den Charakter der Fläche bis zur Unbesiedelbarkeit verändert hat. Bleibt zu hoffen, dass dort angrenzende, noch erhaltene Flächen der Art ein weiteres Überleben in diesem Gebiet ermöglichen.
So oder ähnlich verläuft es leider an immer mehr Fundorten!

Bemerkungen:
Pyrgus carlinae kommt endemisch in den Südwestalpen vor (Frankreich, Schweiz, NW-Italien).

Hinweise zur Bestimmung:
Die Weibchen weisen meist eine intensive gelbliche Überstäubung der Flügeloberseite auf. Die weißen Flecken sind auf der Vorderflügeloberseite oft deutlich reduziert. Bei den Männchen sind die weißen Flecken hier größer und auf der Hinterflügeloberseite viel schärfer ausgebildet.
Pyrgus carlinae kann vor allem mit Pyrgus alveus verwechselt werden, weist aber bei einiger Erfahrung ausreichend subtile Unterschiede (v.a. auf der HFU) auf, um auch im Freiland recht sicher angesprochen werden zu können.



Pyrgus accretus | Pyrgus alveus | Pyrgus andromedae | Pyrgus armoricanus | Pyrgus bellieri | Pyrgus cacaliae | Pyrgus carthami | Pyrgus cinarae | Pyrgus cirsii | Pyrgus malvae | Pyrgus malvoides | Pyrgus onopordi | Pyrgus serratulae | Pyrgus sidae | Pyrgus warrenensis