Nymphalis antiopa (Linnaeus, 1758)


Nymphalis antiopa: Adult [N] Nymphalis antiopa: Adult [N] Nymphalis antiopa: Adult [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Adult [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Upper side, in the spring the yellow brim has faded (Ticino) [N] Nymphalis antiopa: Adult [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Lower side [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Larvae [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Larva [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Larvae [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Larva, fully-grown [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Larva [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Pupa [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Habitat in the Black forest in southwest Germany in June 2009: clearcutting and storm successions with Salix and Betula in large, mountainous forests [N] Nymphalis antiopa: Habitat in the Adelegg (a prealpine lower massif in Southern Germany) in a sunny stream valley with Salix between mountainous forests (June 2010) [N]

Host plants:
The larvae feed on Salicaceae (willows like Salix caprea) and Betulaceae (birches like Betula pendula or Betula pubescens), rarely probably also on other woods.

Habitat:
Nymphalis antiopa inhabits large forests, particularly in cool, moist, mountainous areas. It is rarely found in parks, especially in years with higher abundance.

Life cycle:
Nymphalis antiopa occurs in a single generation per year. Overwintered adults fly from April to June, sometimes even early or mid-July. Oviposition takes place much later than in Nymphalis polychloros. The caterpillars can be found from June to August, often in larger communities. The resulting butterflies appear in August/September.

Endangerment: endangered

Endangerment factors:
Nymphalis antiopa is endangered through monotonization and darkening of the forests, removal of economically worthless soft woods, dense coniferous afforestation and forest fragmentation. Nymphalis antiopa itself has also pronounced cycles of abundance (possibly influenced by parasitoids). Nymphalis antiopa was quite common on the Adelegg (a prealpine low mountain in Southern Germany) between 1990-1996. After this period Nymphalis antiopa was very rare there again. First new own observations succeeded not before 20010 and 2011. Elsewhere, such as in the Upper Bavarian Alps Nymphalis antiopa was observed regularly in the years 2004-2007 (Mario Peluso, Ulrich Rau).

Remarks:
The distribution is Holarctic. Nymphalis antiopa occurs from Northern Spain through Europe and temperate Asia to North America.



Nymphalis c-album | Nymphalis egea | Nymphalis ichnusa | Nymphalis io | Nymphalis polychloros | Nymphalis urticae

Nymphalis antiopa (Linnaeus, 1758) (Trauermantel)


Nymphalis antiopa: Falter [N] Nymphalis antiopa: Falter [N] Nymphalis antiopa: Falter [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Imago [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Oberseite, im Frühjahr ist der gelbe Rand ausgeblichen (Tessin) [N] Nymphalis antiopa: Falter [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Unterseite [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Raupen [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Raupe [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Raupen [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Raupe, ausgewachsen [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Raupe [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Puppe [S] Nymphalis antiopa: Habitat im Schwarzwald: Windwurfflur  mit Salix und Betula in ausgedehnten, montanen Waldgebieten (Juni 2009). [N] Nymphalis antiopa: Habitat auf der Adelegg: feuchte Staudenfluren mit Salix in einem sonnigen, engen Bachtal mit umgebenden großen Waldungen (Juni 2010). Hier kommen auch Boloria thore und Nycteola degenerana vor. [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen leben an Salicaceae (Salix caprea u.a.) und Betulaceae (Betula pendula und Betula pubescens), selten wohl auch an anderen Gehölzen.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Nymphalis antiopa bewohnt großflächige Wälder, vor allem im kühl-feuchten, montanen Bereich. Nur selten findet sie sich in Jahren größerer Abundanz auch in Parks.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Nymphalis antiopa bildet eine Generation pro Jahr aus. Überwinterte Falter fliegen von April bis Juni, manchmal noch Anfang oder gar Mitte Juli. Die Eiablage findet deutlich später statt als bei Nymphalis polychloros. Die Raupen findet man von Juni bis August oft in größeren Gesellschaften, teils Kahlfraß verursachend. Die Herbstfalter erscheinen im August/September, begeben sich aber bald in ihre Verstecke.

Gefährdung: gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Durch Monotonisierung der Wälder, Ausputzen der ökonomisch wertlosen Nahrungspflanzen, dichte Nadelholzaufforstung und Zerstückelung der Wälder ist Nymphalis antiopa gefährdet. Der Falter weist aber auch selbst ausgeprägte Abundanzzyklen (eventuell auch von Parasitoiden beeinflusst) auf. So war Nymphalis antiopa um 1990-1996 recht häufig als Falter und Raupe bei Memmingen und auf der Adelegg (präalpiner Gebirgsstock zwischen Kempten und Isny). Seither ist der Falter dort allerdings wieder deutlich seltener geworden (erste neuere Funde wieder im Jahr 2010/2011 auf der Adelegg). Andernorts wie am oberbayerischen Alpenrand wurde der Falter etwa 2004-2007 regelmäßig beobachtet (Mario Peluso, Ulrich Rau).

Bemerkungen:
Die Verbreitung ist holarktisch. Nymphalis antiopa kommt von Nordspanien über Europa und das gemäßigte Asien bis Nordamerika vor.



Nymphalis c-album | Nymphalis egea | Nymphalis ichnusa | Nymphalis io | Nymphalis polychloros | Nymphalis urticae