Argynnis elisa Godart, 1823


Argynnis elisa: Adult (e.l. Sardinia 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Male (e.l. Sardinia 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Male (e.l. Sardinia 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Male (e.l. Sardinia 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Male (e.l. Sardinia 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Male (e.l. Sardinia 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Half-grown larva (Sardinia, 24/05/2012) [M] Argynnis elisa: Half-grown larva (Sardinia, Gennargentu, 1300m, 24/05/2012) [M] Argynnis elisa: Half-grown larva at the beginning of the penultimate instar (Sardinia, Gennargentu, 1300m, 24/05/2012) [N] Argynnis elisa: Half-grown larva in penultimate instar (Sardinia, Gennargentu, 1300m, 24/05/2012) [M] Argynnis elisa: Larva in penultimate instar (Sardinia, 24/05/2012) [M] Argynnis elisa: Larva in last instar (e.l. Sardinia 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Larva in last instar (e.l. Sardinia 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Larva in last instar (e.l. Sardinia 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Larva in last instar (e.l. Sardinia 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Larva in last instar (e.l. Sardinia 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Larva in last instar (e.l. Sardinia 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Pupa [S] Argynnis elisa: Pupa Argynnis elisa: Pupa [S] Argynnis elisa: Feeding pattern at Viola, Sardinia, 1300m above sea level, 24/05/2012. The larva was found below the hostplant well concealed in the vegetation. [N] Argynnis elisa: Larval habitat in a pasture at 1200m above sea level in Sardinia, 24/05/2012. [N] Argynnis elisa: Larval habitat in a pasture at 1200m above sea level in Sardinia, 24/05/2012. [N] Argynnis elisa: Larval habitat in a pasture at 1200m above sea level in Sardinia, 24/05/2012. [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillar lives on Viola species (violet). I found it in Sardinia at Viola riviniana and Viola alba dehnhardtii. The literature also mentions Viola corsica that is not rare in the higher altitudes of Corsica and Sardinia, but missed in the studied slope section (see below), but occurred in the vicinity.

Habitat:
Argynnis elisa inhabits extensively grazed pastures, clearings and general edges often in contact with woods in medium and higher altitudes (from about 600 to 1800m above sea level). I found the caterpillar in Sardinia in the central mountains in about 1200 to 1400m above sea level on pastures that were rich in a low growing broom and Viola. The caterpillars live often (but not exclusively) on Viola plants that are growing in light, low broom shrubs as I could observe also with Argynnis pandora (Sardinia) and Argynnis niobe (Alpes-de-Haute-Provence). These offer some protection against grazing. Presumably, the accumulation of the records in broom stands is rather more a stochastic effect, firstly because the caterpillars have been also found off the broom and the other because the violets are just more common in the protection of the numerous small broom bushes than in the open area.

Life cycle:
The L1-larva overwinters in the egg shell. The caterpillars can be found from April to June. I found them in Sardinia half-grown in the third last and penultimate instar in late May 2012 on the basis of feeding traces (see figure). The animals rested then below the violets partially concealed in the grass or moss. Pupation takes place as with Argynnis aglaja (probably the most closely related species) in a relatively dense cocoon in the litter layer.

The moths fly from late June to August.

Endangerment factors:
Argynnis elisa is at present probably only locally potentially threatened by abandonment of grazing and destruction of habitat. Generally the higher altitudes of Sardinia belong to the still quite well preserved and protected areas in Europe, so that presently there is no stronger threat.

Remarks:
Argynnis elisa is endemic to Sardinia and Corsica.



Argynnis adippe | Argynnis aglaja | Argynnis niobe | Argynnis pandora | Argynnis paphia

Argynnis elisa Godart, 1823


Argynnis elisa: Falter (e.l. Sardinien 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Männchen (e.l. Sardinien 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Männchen (e.l. Sardinien 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Männchen (e.l. Sardinien 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Männchen (e.l. Sardinien 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Männchen (e.l. Sardinien 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Sardinien, 24.05.2012) [M] Argynnis elisa: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Sardinien, Gennargentu, 1300m, 24.05.2012) [M] Argynnis elisa: Halbwüchsige Raupe am Anfang des vorletzten Stadiums (Sardinien, Gennargentu, 1300m, 24.05.2012) [N] Argynnis elisa: Halbwüchsige Raupe im vorletzten Stadium (Sardinien, Gennargentu, 1300m, 24.05.2012) [M] Argynnis elisa: Raupe im vorletzten Stadium (Sardinien, 24.05.2012) [M] Argynnis elisa: Raupe im letzten Stadium (e.l. Sardinien 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Raupe im letzten Stadium (e.l. Sardinien 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Raupe im letzten Stadium (e.l. Sardinien 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Raupe im letzten Stadium (e.l. Sardinien 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Raupe im letzten Stadium (e.l. Sardinien 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Raupe im letzten Stadium (e.l. Sardinien 2012) [S] Argynnis elisa: Puppe [S] Argynnis elisa: Puppe Argynnis elisa: Puppe [S] Argynnis elisa: Fraßbild an Viola, Sardinien, 1300m NN, 24.05.2012. Die Raupe saß unterhalb der Pflanze gut versteckt in der Vegetation. [N] Argynnis elisa: Larvalhabitat in einer Weidelandschaft oberhalb von 1200m NN auf Sardinien, 24.05.2012. [N] Argynnis elisa: Larvalhabitat in einer Weidelandschaft oberhalb von 1200m NN auf Sardinien, 24.05.2012. [N] Argynnis elisa: Habitat in einer Weidelandschaft oberhalb von 1200m NN auf Sardinien, 24.05.2012. [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupe lebt an Viola-Arten (Veilchen). Ich fand sie auf Sardinien an Viola riviniana und Viola alba dehnhardtii. Die Literatur nennt auch Viola corsica, die in den höheren Lagen von Korsika und Sardinien nicht selten ist, aber am untersuchten Hangabschnitt (siehe unten) fehlte (kam aber in der Nähe vor).

Lebensraumansprüche:
Argynnis elisa besiedelt extensive Weiden, Waldlichtungen und allgemein Säume oft in Kontakt zu Gehölzen in mittleren und höheren Lagen (etwa von 600 bis 1800m NN). Die Raupen fand ich auf Sardinien im Zentralgebirge in etwa 1200 bis 1400m NN auf Weiden, die reich an einem niedrigwüchsigen Ginster und Viola waren. Die Raupen leben oft (aber keinesfalls ausschließlich) an in lichten, niedrigen Ginsterbüschen wachsenden Viola-Pflanzen wie ich das auch bei Argynnis pandora (Sardinien) und Argynnis niobe (Alpes-de-Haute-Provence) beobachten konnte. Diese bieten der Raupe einigen Schutz bei Beweidung. Vermutlich ist die Häufung der Funde in Ginsterbeständen aber eher ein stochastischer Effekt, da einerseits Raupen auch abseits der Ginster gefunden wurden und andererseits eben die Veilchen im Schutz der zahlreichen kleinen Ginster-Sträucher viel häufiger sind als auf der freien Fläche.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Eiraupe überwintert in der Eihülle. Die Raupen sind von April bis Juni zu finden. Ich fand sie halbwüchsig im dritt- und vorletzten Stadium Ende Mai 2012 auf Sardinien anhand der Fraßspuren (siehe Abbildung). Die Tiere saßen dann unterhalb der Veilchen im Gras oder Moos teilweise verborgen. Die Verpuppung erfolgt wie bei Argynnis aglaja (der wohl nächstverwandten Art) in einem relativ dichten Gespinst in der Streuschicht als Stürzpuppe.

Die Falter fliegen von Ende Juni bis August.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Argynnis elisa ist zur Zeit wohl nur lokal potentiell durch Aufgabe der Beweidung oder Zerstörung der Habitate gefährdet. Insgesamt gehören etwa die höhergelegenen Gegenden Sardiniens zu den im europäischen Vergleich noch recht gut erhaltenen und geschützten Gebieten, so dass derzeit keine allzu starke Bedrohung vorliegen dürfte.

Bemerkungen:
Argynnis elisa ist ein Endemit Sardiniens und Korsikas.



Argynnis adippe | Argynnis aglaja | Argynnis niobe | Argynnis pandora | Argynnis paphia