Eilema cereola (Hübner, 1803)


Eilema cereola: Female (Valais, Switzerland) [S] Eilema cereola: Female, ventral [S] Eilema cereola: Male (e.l. Valais, Switzerland) [S] Eilema cereola: Male (e.l. Valais, Switzerland) [S] Eilema cereola: Larva [M] Eilema cereola: Larva (Valais, Switzerland 2010) [M] Eilema cereola: Habitat [N]

Host plants:
The larva feeds on mosses, algae, lichens, old grasses, litte and flowers, etc.

Habitat:
Eilema cereola inhabits alpine, usually slightly matted pastures and meadows especially in the (southern) central Alps, that are sometimes interspersed with stones and sometimes located in open forest between mostly 1400 and 2200m above sea level.

Life cycle:
The caterpillar overwinters half-grown. I found them in early June in the Valais in a gravel interspersed gully in very sparse mountain forest at 2000 meters above sea level in the search for Lycaena larvae under Rumex scutatus. The moth flies from late June to mid-August.

Endangerment factors:
In places, Eilema cereola can be endangered by skiing infrastructure, chalet construction, too intense grazing or avalanche barriers.

Remarks:
Eilema cereola represents morphological characteristics between Eilema and Setina. Because of that some authors treat Eilema cereola in the specially created genus Setema. In my opinion, it is much closer to Eilema.

Eilema cereola occurs from Scandinavia and the Baltic countries eastwards (Russia). A disjunct occurrence is known from the Alps.



Eilema albicosta | Eilema bipunctata | Eilema caniola | Eilema complana | Eilema deplana | Eilema griseola | Eilema lurideola | Eilema lutarella | Eilema morosina | Eilema palliatella | Eilema pygmaeola | Eilema sororcula

Eilema cereola (Hübner, 1803) (Alpen-Flechtenbärchen)


Eilema cereola: Falter (Wallis, Täschalpe, Juli 2019) [N] Eilema cereola: Falter (Wallis, Täschalpe, Juli 2019) [N] Eilema cereola: Falter (Wallis, Laggintal, Juli 2019) [N] Eilema cereola: Falter (e.l. Tirol, Gaichtspitze, Raupe Anfang Mai 2014) [S] Eilema cereola: Weibchen (Wallis) [S] Eilema cereola: Weibchen, ventral [S] Eilema cereola: Männchen (e.l. Wallis) [S] Eilema cereola: Männchen (e.l. Wallis) [S] Eilema cereola: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Tirol, Gaichtspitze, Anfang Mai 2014) [S] Eilema cereola: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Tirol, Gaichtspitze, Anfang Mai 2014) [S] Eilema cereola: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Tirol, Gaichtspitze, Anfang Mai 2014) [S] Eilema cereola: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Tirol, Gaichtspitze, Anfang Mai 2014) [S] Eilema cereola: Raupe (Tirol, Gaichtspitze, Anfang Mai 2014) [S] Eilema cereola: Raupe [M] Eilema cereola: Raupe (Wallis 2010) [M] Eilema cereola: Raupe (Tirol, Gaichtspitze, Anfang Mai 2014) [N] Eilema cereola: Raupe (Tirol, Gaichtspitze, Anfang Mai 2014) [N] Eilema cereola: Larvalhabitat (Tirol, Gaichtspitze, Anfang Mai 2014) [N] Eilema cereola: Habitat [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupe befrisst Moose, Algen, Flechten, alte Gräser, Streu und Blüten etc.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Eilema cereola besiedelt alpine, meist leicht verfilzte Weiden und Wiesen vor allem der (südlichen) Zentralalpen, teils mit Steinen durchsetzt, teils im lichten Wald von 1400 bis über 2200m NN. Im Norden kommt sie in wesentlich niedriger gelegenen Habitaten vor.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Raupe überwintert halberwachsen. Ich fand sie Anfang Juni im Wallis in einer schuttdurchsetzten Runse im sehr lichten Bergwald in 2000m NN bei der Suche nach Lycaena-Raupen unter Rumex scutatus. Der Falter fliegt von Ende Juni bis Mitte August.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Stellenweise ist Eilema cereola bedroht durch Skipisten, Wochenendhäuser, zu intensive Beweidung oder Lawinenverbauungen etc.

Bemerkungen:
Eilema cereola steht in morphologischen Eigenschaften zwischen Eilema und Setina, weshalb manche Autoren Eilema cereola in der eigens erschaffenen Gattung Setema führen. Meiner Meinung nach ist der Falter aber doch deutlich näher an Eilema, was heute auch in der Literatur in der Regel wieder so gesehen wird.

Eilema cereola ist von Skandinavien und dem Baltikum nach Osten verbreitet (Rußland). Davon abgetrennt ist das Vorkommen in den Alpen. Hier ist Eilema cereola in Teilen der Süd- und Zentralalpen recht verbreitet, im Norden dagegen nur sehr lokal (z.B. nur sporadisch in den Bayerischen Alpen).



Eilema albicosta | Eilema bipunctata | Eilema caniola | Eilema complana | Eilema deplana | Eilema griseola | Eilema interpositella | Eilema lurideola | Eilema lutarella | Eilema morosina | Eilema palliatella | Eilema pygmaeola | Eilema sororcula