Scopula guancharia (Alphéraky, 1889)


Scopula guancharia: Adult (e.l. Fuerteventura) [S] Scopula guancharia: Adult (e.l. Fuerteventura) [S] Scopula guancharia: Larva (Fuerteventura) [N] Scopula guancharia: Pupa [S] Scopula guancharia: Habitat in Fuerteventura (early February 2010) [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillars probably live polyphagous on herbs. I found them in Fuerteventura on Calendula (marigold) in a rock niche and in La Palma on Lotus.

Habitat:
Scopula guancharia often colonized stony-rocky slopes and other xerothermic habitats. But it can also occur on farmland.

Life cycle:
Scopula guancharia should fly almost year round. The maximum is, however, in winter and spring. The caterpillar is also found throughout the year, but most frequently in the spring. I found it feeding on the plant during the day (Fuerteventura).

Endangerment factors:
Scopula guancharia is locally threatened by the sprawling mass tourism, which always more natural habitats fall victim to. Particularly nasty examples are found in Gran Canaria and Tenerife. Outside these centers Scopula guancharia is still more common.

Remarks:
Scopula guancharia is endemic to the Canary Islands (Spain).



Scopula decorata | Scopula floslactata | Scopula imitaria | Scopula immorata | Scopula immutata | Scopula incanata | Scopula irrorata | Scopula marginepunctata | Scopula minorata | Scopula nigropunctata | Scopula ornata | Scopula rubiginata | Scopula submutata | Scopula ternata

Scopula guancharia (Alphéraky, 1889)


Scopula guancharia: Falter (e.l. Fuerteventura) [S] Scopula guancharia: Falter (e.l. Fuerteventura) [S] Scopula guancharia: Raupe (Fuerteventura) [N] Scopula guancharia: Puppe [S] Scopula guancharia: Habitat (Raupenfund) auf Fuerteventura (Anfang Februar 2010) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupe dürfte polyphag an Kräutern leben. Ich fand sie auf Fuerteventura an Calendula (Ringelblume) in einer Felsnische und auf La Palma an Lotus.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Scopula guancharia besiedelt oft steinige-felsige Hänge und andere xerotherme Habitate. Sie kann aber auch im Kulturland auftreten.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Scopula guancharia dürfte fast ganzjährig fliegen. Das Maximum liegt aber im Winter und Frühjahr. Die Raupe ist ebenfalls ganzjährig anzutreffen, gehäuft aber wohl im Frühjahr. Ich fand sie tagsüber an der Pflanze fressend (Fuerteventura).

Gefährdungsursachen:
Scopula guancharia ist stellenweise durch den ausufernden Massentourismus gefährdet, dem immer mehr natürliche Lebensräume zum Opfer fallen. Besonders scheußliche Beispiele sind auf Gran Canaria und Teneriffa zu finden. Abseits dieser Zentren ist Scopula guancharia jedoch noch gut vertreten.

Bemerkungen:
Scopula guancharia kommt endemisch auf den Kanarischen Inseln vor (Spanien).



Scopula decorata | Scopula floslactata | Scopula imitaria | Scopula immorata | Scopula immutata | Scopula incanata | Scopula irrorata | Scopula marginepunctata | Scopula nigropunctata | Scopula ornata | Scopula rubiginata | Scopula submutata